Dear Earth,

Nights like these I lie awake, wondering why I even try,

We live in a world immune to violence, a blood-stained sky.

I worked my hardest to earn top honors and always act my best.

But when I’m scared to be in public or at my school, is this the final test?

Yes, there is still a warm section of earth filled with good.

Yet, what if the cure to cancer is trapped in the hood?

I feel their sorrow and hear the tears shed.

My prayers tonight are with those who will never be back in their bed.

– AB

3 thoughts on “Dear Earth,

Leave a Reply

